L.A. Dance Project 19.JPG


Choreography by Benjamin Millepied

Created in 2009 on Millepied’s then pick-up troupe Danses Concertantes, Sarabande is set to music by Johann Sebastian Bach: excerpts from Partita for Solo Flute in A Minor and two of Bach’s six Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin. In this ballet for four dancers, Millepied’s pervading lyricism and penchant for a fluid and, at times, near-improvisatory movement quality breathe dimension into these exemplary solos for flute and violin which are performed live on stage (whenever possible). The piece opens to the sounds of a bright, playful flute from which a solitary dancer draws his impetus with poised exuberance. The mood then shifts to a more somber place during the second solo, which is succeeded by the arrival of the noble and virtuosic violin, and with it a courtly-yet-contemporary pas de trois that sets the tone for the various solo and ensemble sections that follow.

23 Minutes

Premiere: November 2009, Maison de la Danse in Lyon, France

DOWNLOAD Technical Requirements

Photos and video coming soon!

benjamin millepied