Choreographer: Benjamin Millepied, In collaboration with Julia Eichten, Charlie Hodges, Morgan Lugo, Nathan Makolandra and Amanda Wells

Reflections is conceived as a true artistic collaboration, not only between choreographer Benjamin Millepied, composer David Lang and artist Barbara Kruger, but also between Millepied and the dancers of L.A. Dance Project.

Reflections premiered at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, France on May 23, 2013. It was commissioned by Van Cleef and Arpels as the first part of a Triptych entitled “Gems”, to be completed by two different artistic teams collaborating with Benjamin Millepied.

The stark essentiality of Kruger’s artwork captures the sensuality and ephemeral feelings of longing and desire, which runs through all of Millepied’s work. David Lang’s minimal score for piano solo is a unique selection from This was written by hand/memory pieces, carefully chosen by Millepied and Kruger during the collaborative workshop process in Los Angeles and performed by Andrew Zolinsky for Cantaloupe Records.

May 23, 2013 at Theâtre du Châtelet in Paris, France. 

Visual Installation and Costume Design
Barbara Kruger 

Lighting Design
Roderick Murray

David Lang
This was written by hand / memory pieces (selections)

Andrew Zolinsky

30 minutes

Commissioned by Van Cleef & Arpels.